38 KB · Views: 125
  • DSC00635.JPG
    DSC00635.JPG
    46.3 KB · Views: 117
  • DSC00633.JPG
    DSC00633.JPG
    41.8 KB · Views: 109
Upvote 0
Cool piece. Is there a rim on that? It looks to be the bottom of a much larger cooking pot. they had round bottoms on them to sit down in the coals better. I think I see a rim on part of it but I'm not sure.

Last edited:
Got it. Good cordinance... I could see the color change where it was broken also. You should go back and visit that guy from time to time. I do the same thing with a guy at the Mount Dora flea market by me. every time I go we start talking.. and talking.. and he gives me things. I'm going up that way for Christmas I'm actually going to bring him something.

Road Dog said:
Got this at the Flea today. Fella was selling all sorts of local (NC) artifacts. He had boxes full of partial arrowheads,tools,pottery pieces etc. Pulled this mostly intact bowl from the pile.

I have been hunting NC for 25 years now, and have yet to run up on any thing like that. Nice! Don't be insulted by this question. Are you certain it is authentic? My uncle was at a flea market this past weekend and found a guy with frames of busted points. He wanted $25.00 for busted points. I don't buy, let alone broken points. If one does buy, a broken bowl, like yours, is much different than broken morrow mt. Points. You see what I'm saying, right?

I would say no doubt real. Not many people fake a broken pot. I am thinking its a paddled cord wrapped??What do you think Gator? Nice find Road Dog if it did not have a rim I would be thinking a leg off a very large pot. Nice snag for sure.:thumbsup:

Thanks ya'll. It's definately authentic. I've found alot of pieces of pots over the years. This fella had everything in big boxes you had to dig thru. I coulda bought the whole box of pieces for 20 bucks. I told him I didn't need another box of those at the house.

Road Dog said: