Bigcypresshunter

Gold Member
Dec 15, 2004
South Florida
Detector(s) used
70's Whites TM Amphibian, HH Pulse, Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
This was found some years ago in road fill dug from a rock pit in South Florida years ago. Rock and shell dug from these pits are used to make roads. Its hard as a rock, smooth on the outside and has layers inside. Is this a fossilized rib bone or something else?

DSC00846.JPGDSC00845.JPGDSC00847.JPGDSC00850.JPG

Attachments

• DSC00885.JPG
    DSC00885.JPG
    497.7 KB · Views: 100
Last edited:
It came off my camera but I didnt post that last photo so ignore it. I dont know how to delete it.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Conch shell and bone both look good to me, but then what do I know -- not much about conch shells or petrified bones.

Upvote 0
It seems too thick and heavy to be part from a conch shell. Im not sure what part it could be? Its 3/4 inch thick on the fat end.

Upvote 0
I was thinking jaw bone--but im not an expert :thumbsup:

Upvote 0
Does anyone know how I can delete image #5 attached thumbnails?

Upvote 0
Go to your posts or threads and click edit

Upvote 0
1attachment.php.jpgView attachment 1193196

I tried to highlight stuff...but it didn't work.

Bottom left you see broken off edge. If bone this would be porous as it would make up bone marrow.

Top middle you see chipping, bone doesn't chip like that, it is flexible and fractures.

Top bottom right. Sharp edges delineated. Bone doesn't form like this. Not a jaw bone. Look up maxilla and mandible. Looks nothing like it.

doc

Last edited:
Upvote 0
View attachment 1193197View attachment 1193196

Bottom left you see broken off edge. If bone this would be porous as it would make up bone marrow.

Top middle you see chipping, bone doesn't chip like that, it is flexible and fractures.

Top bottom right. Sharp edges delineated. Bone doesn't form like this. Not a jaw bone. Look up maxilla and mandible. Looks nothing like it.

doc