Howdy from West Virginia

Tricord

Tenderfoot
Jun 11, 2014
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Compadre
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been using this great site to help research my finds for a while and decided I should sign up. I doubt I'll be able to contribute much since I'm new to the hobby, but here I am.

I've had my tesoro for a couple of years but have only really gotten into it since about March. Finally convinced my old man to head out with me and I've got him hooked now too. A couple of months ago I found my first old coin. A 1919 buffalo, in a local park that has been combed over a million times and it kind of lit a fire under both of us. My old man is still trying to get used to his and hasn't found much beyond clad. It wasn't until yesterday that we were digging near a known CW site and I found a button 5 minutes into our hunt. Not knowing what it was, I didn't give it much thought and just put it into my "keeps pouch". When I got home and cleaned it up and researched it I found out that it was in fact a tombac or a dandy. (still trying to discern the difference). Also found an old harmonica reed and some hand wrought nails in great condition and found a 1905 indian head penny. It's not much but it's my best day yet and it's fueling my new found addiction. The button was especially exciting for me. I was only hoping for my first CW relic and I managed to go back much further.

I do have some finds that I just can't seem to identify and some questions about some of the finds I have. I'll try to get some pictures up as soon as I can, maybe some of you fellas or ladies can shed some light.

Anyway, fantastic site! Thanks to whom ever created it.

Stay hydrated out there!