Couple coins I am curious about..

tonyclark34

Tenderfoot
Jun 27, 2021
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, Im brand new to the site and am blown away by all the great info Im finding on here.

I have a couple coins I am curious about and I hope you guys can help me out.

The first coin was sold to me as an authentic Atocha 1 spanish reale coin (grade 1). I have included the COA that came with it but it is labeled "Duplicate" on the cert and I found that strange. When I questioned the seller they said that was common. The look and feel of the coin checks out to me but I am not an expert.

The 2nd coin is a coin my father left me when he passed away. He wore this coin for many years around his neck but he always claimed he suspected it was a replica. It does not have any documentation but I am curious what you guys think of it.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

***Also posted this thread in "Spanish Cobs" section. Figured I would get more eyes on it in this area though :)

Attachments

• 20210626_221952.jpg
    20210626_221952.jpg
    71.2 KB · Views: 65
  • 20210626_221938.jpg
    20210626_221938.jpg
    67.2 KB · Views: 64
  • 20210626_222531.jpg
    20210626_222531.jpg
    190.5 KB · Views: 68
  • atocha.jpg
    atocha.jpg
    281.2 KB · Views: 75
  • 20210626_222505.jpg
    20210626_222505.jpg
    793.7 KB · Views: 82
No opinions?? I'm bringing these to a rare coin dealer tomorrow to have them looked at but I figured with so many knowledgeable people on this site I could get at least some info from u guys. Am I barking up the wrong tree here?

Upvote 0
Lack of response is because you really can't judge or evaluate a coin going by a picture. I won't address the COA, But I have doubts about the first coin also?

Upvote 0
Welcome,