Cornfield arrowhead hunting

Vinland

Tenderfoot
Oct 28, 2023
I'm kind of new to searching fields. I've pretty much just searched creeks and rivers forever. I'm having a little luck in cut cornfields after it rains. I'm coming across certain areas in a couple harvested cornfields and soybean fields. All of these fields run up hill from a creek. I'm finding debitage pretty heavy in certain areas on all the fields. Other areas absolutely none. Should I concentrate on the areas where I'm finding chert and flint or the whole fields.

Upvote 2
Encampments were often on high ground near water

Most of my field finds I think were just lost in hunting

As a rule, if looking at a topographical map of your area(s), the first "line" up from the water is where to start. If you are finding chert / flint in any field. Keep looking there. If widely scattered, work to locate areas with more than less....go with more.

Water ways have moved over eons so do not think in terms of today's view of things....imagine where it WAS as well and think outside the box. They HAD to stay near water and HAD to camp above the expected flood stage.

Do not discount any creek areas as we have areas where you can see campfire rings on top of campfire rings in the
sides of the banks of our creeks.

A sample:
(f.y.i. I have found help by looking at OLD topos like the example)

IMG_4593.jpeg

vfm

Last edited:
Congrats on what sounds like a great site to explore. I like to work the areas with the most visible flakes first and to revisit them after every hard rain.
Any pictures of your debitage finds?

Debitage is great but once the NA knapped a point, wether an arrowhead, knife, or spear he walked away & used it elsewhere. In my experience, debitage never resulted in points being found. It does show that it was an area used and lived in by early people's.