Why Is It ??

WV Hillbilly

Dec 8, 2006
West Virginia
Detector(s) used
TIME RANGER CZ3D ACE 250
I have found numerous 1965 quarters but no 1964 or older . Can a really experienced person
cherry pick silver coins & ignore clad ? I can't think of any other reason this is happening . The only
other explantion I can come up with is someone hit the places around here hard when they heard
coins were going to change . It doesn't seem likely that they would have got all the silver though .
Anyone having the same experiences ?

I dont understand also.
why can i find a hand full of clad in an area where old coins should be!

I recently moved in to a big old farm house
I found 30 clad up to six inches all recent dates
then i found 1907 indian head
1866 indian head penny
1866 2 cent peice
1867 sheild nickle
wouldnt you say there is a big generation gap here!
no silver.
im very lucky to find the old coins
but almost all of my other sites are clad

Beats me I'm new to the DFX and found one silver Rosie at a real old park by an equally old slide and one Merc in my 1920's front yard.
Everything else clad except for a1957 dog tag.I'm in the same boat ya'll are in. WTH? We need answers! I guess back to :icon_study: for me. hehe

I've found two nice silver coins this year. A SLQ and a 1943 WL Half. Both times my Sovereign gave me the high tone and the meter indicated a 1/10/25/50/1$ coin. I found both times the high tone had a flutter on it. Not a broken signal type of thing, just a good high tone with flutter.

Both of my finds were in areas that not a lot of people gathered at. One was an old home site from the 1930's and the other on an old abandoned cart road.
Thats my story for what its worth.

here is an example

two yards I hunted.one was a farmer and the other was a merchant.they were neighbors from the same time period.the merchants yard gave up barbers,mercs,silver washingtons,wheats and I/h's.the farmers yard only
gave up a couple of wheats and two i/h's.