IMG_4415.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 47
  • IMG_4416.JPG
    IMG_4416.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 50
Upvote 5
It looks to be a very abrasive stone.
Could be natural rock formation? IDK

I’m no expert, you should post it on the Native American forum.

Was it found anywhere near running water, creek, stream ect?

When pictures are blown up they don't show any signs of abrasion or use in pictures, looks more formed by water.

Not sure what this was used for. It came from Southern Appalachian Cherokee area. It is about 6 inches long and weighs almost a pound. I was thinking it might have been used for plowing/ gardening. I haven't been able to find a picture of anything like it anywhere. Does anyone else know what it might have been used for?
Looks like an Indian arrow shaft straightener.

Looks like an Indian arrow shaft straightener.
I started to post that suggestion, but there are just too many lines that “could” be grooved and they are very course, in a similar way the rest of the stone is. No difference in texture from wear.

Really doesn’t look like other artifacts surmised to be used for that purpose. They are usually a hard stone.

As stated on other thread, it is natural stone, looks like it was water erosion that formed it. If the groove was man made it would show it to be much smoother inside the groove.

Last edited:
Not sure what this was used for. It came from Southern Appalachian Cherokee area. It is about 6 inches long and weighs almost a pound. I was thinking it might have been used for plowing/ gardening. I haven't been able to find a picture of anything like it anywhere. Does anyone else know what it might have been used for?
What makes you think it's tooled instead of natural?

I'm new to this, but in other pics, there are usually indications of a stone tool being worked. I don't see that here. I'm curious where it was found, and if there were any other similar stones nearby.

What makes you think it's tooled instead of natural?