trying to find anything i can about it

fast_408

Tenderfoot
Oct 4, 2016
North Judson ,In
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As the title says ,I have an old ax or something to that nature .It was given too me, the guy I got it from said he had no ideal where he got it, only that he has had it from when he was a kid. and he is 62 now! It has copper inlay in it and the holes seem to be squared edges like it was done with a hammer n chisel, the head has a cap on it that if u look from the bottom almost looks like it was soldered on, it also has a bolt with threads in the center of the bottom I think it may of been added after it was built, bc it seems like the head is tapered ,I think they used to use a wedge type of handle where u put it in and slide it down till it wedges , Im not for sure on this its just a guess I have no experience in any thing like this so if I can get any thing else to help identify it just lmk I took a bunch of pics ,but if anyone wants a diffrent angle just ask . thankyou for any and all help you guys may be able to offer 008.JPG027.JPG019.JPG016.JPG014.JPG015.JPG013.JPG012.JPG011.JPG010.JPG009.JPG028.JPG061.JPG

Looks handforged and then the holes cut out with a torch. Judging from the rough edges anyways and thst round hole on back side of head was more than likely added as a set screw to keep it on the handle

Upvote 0
I am going with mid 1700s trade ax , fur traders or Native American . but i am not sure

Upvote 0
I like it I really do but it's just one of them pieces you see that in your mind your first thought is its too nest to be legit

Upvote 0
I like it I really do but it's just one of them pieces you see that in your mind your first thought is its too nest to be legit

I agree. I just looks too good to be really old. Of course, I'm no expert and it could be a completely different story with the relic in hand...