Stumbled across the remanence of old plantation and what is all this?

bbheigle0605

Feb 9, 2013
Hi everyone! I live in the same home I grew up in and I'm surrounded by agriculture fields. I live about a hour north of Vicksburg, MS. The kids and I were walking in the field next to my house and we suddenly saw broken glass of all colors everywhere! One of the broken pieces I could identify the maker, Illinois Glass Company (Diamond with the "I" in the center. No "O" for Owens). The kids and I spent the next several days picking up most of the glass and medal. Im thinking it was a house that burned bc of charred bricks and medal or it was a garbage pit? I found some brass/copper pieces that I'm not sure what they are. One could be a button off of overalls and a bullet casing but not sure the era. Also, I found a piece that belonged on a musket? What do y'all think? Anything of interest? I'm a beginner so I'm still learning :) Thanks!!!!!!!!

Attachments

• image-3627189417.jpg
    image-3627189417.jpg
    124.1 KB · Views: 159
  • image-3667303806.jpg
    image-3667303806.jpg
    108.5 KB · Views: 147
  • image-1777219022.jpg
    image-1777219022.jpg
    122.4 KB · Views: 160
  • image-2966856869.jpg
    image-2966856869.jpg
    86.3 KB · Views: 156
Oh and my house sits on the land that was once a plantation from the 1850's-1915. Give or take of course

Upvote 0
Oh really! I must research other threads to see how to clean it. Thanks!!

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Looks like there was lots of action and people there back when.
Hunt the death out of that place, Lot's of stuff to get out of your way the find the real goodies:icon_thumleft:

Tim

Upvote 0
Looks like there was lots of action and people there back when.
Hunt the death out of that place, Lot's of stuff to get out of your way the find the real goodies:icon_thumleft:

Tim

You're right! It's a lot of tractor parts and modern stuff. Found some pottery too but not sure about it.

Upvote 0