Should I be finding Gold

bigblock

Jan 8, 2011
NW GA.
??? Well it warmed up the other day enough for me to go panning at a stream close to home i am new to prospecting but i have been reading a lot of books,forums etc so as i am trying to read the stream i find an outcrop of bedrock in the stream that to me looks good so i start panning behind the rock down stream side and start finding lead bird shot so my question is if gold was in this stream should i have been finding any in relation to finding lead what do you think what would you do go deeper go somewhere else or what? your thoughts any ideas? Thanks

Upvote 0
bigblock said:
??? Well it warmed up the other day enough for me to go panning at a stream close to home i am new to prospecting but i have been reading a lot of books,forums etc so as i am trying to read the stream i find an outcrop of bedrock in the stream that to me looks good so i start panning behind the rock down stream side and start finding lead bird shot so my question is if gold was in this stream should i have been finding any in relation to finding lead what do you think what would you do go deeper go somewhere else or what? your thoughts any ideas? Thanks

Since gold is denser than lead if there was any gold in the material that you panned you most likely would have captured the gold as well. :icon_thumleft:

Test panning is just that, you keep panning different areas of the stream testing the material as you go until you find color. Then you follow the color hopefully to a rich pay streak.

Bird shot was deposited way more recently than gold so it hasn't had thousands of years to settle as deep as gold so you may have to go even deeper and down into the cracks and crevices in the bedrock to find any gold. Use pry bars to get under any large boulders and to open areas of bedrock. Sometimes there is false bedrock that is actually just hard pack, so break it up and get underneath.