Regulator wanted

I must respectively disagree. There are design differences between the High and Low pressure regulators, and remember that we are talking about Life Support Equipment. Go to your local dive shop and purchase a Low pressure regulator, they are not all that expensive.

Tom

I have zero experience diving!!! BUT built a hookah anyway.
I used a 110 volt compressor with the compressor reg. set at 60 lbs. and the regulator ($20 eBay) seems to draw and seal OK.
Do the 'store bought' hookahs use less pressure?
I haven't dive tested it yet, Iowas' lakes had ice and I figgered it'd be stupid to chop a hole through it and drown in ice water when I could wait for summer and drown in warm water.
My intent is for shallow 6-12 ft. detecting, boat cleaning, and dock repair.

Attachments

• winter 08 051.jpg
    winter 08 051.jpg
    68 KB · Views: 1,949
  • winter 08 050.jpg
    winter 08 050.jpg
    74.4 KB · Views: 2,596
I experimented in my pool this weekend and it seemed to work great. Mine was just a crude attempt to see how it would do. Phase one passed no problem.

My question is what is the quality of air that is compressed in the air tank? My tank is pretty new but yet it had a corrosion taste (rust).

I just stumbled across you fun guys over here....

I see a buncha different names, all kinda trying to do something life-threatening on a budget.

Xtreme guys, huh?

OK, I can hang with that...

The little pancake compressor in the picture is probably contaminated with oil.
If NOT in a lube crankcase, it has assembly lube in it...

And guys, if you haven't been advised yet, there is no telling what those Chinese fellows used in the content of the machine...

If it is not made to produce breathing air, it does not!

The gases produced by the compressor and hose (itself) could be and most likely are toxic.
It may not get you now, but it will complicate your life later.