🔎 UNIDENTIFIED Possible Revolutionary War Pewter Button? NC or SC 3rd Regiment?

ArmoredOut

Tenderfoot
Jul 5, 2023
NC
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 900
Hi everyone. I am new to metal detecting and to this forum, but am glad I found it! Attached are pics of a what I believe to be a pewter button from the mid to late 1700's just based off of browsing the internet. I found it last week in what today is Union County, NC, but at that time was upper north west Anson County, right near the Mecklenburg County, NC line. I apologize for not having a measurement of the button to share, but will get that to you all this evening.

There appears to be a 3 on the face of the button, but it is very hard to make out for the most part. It could be another marking that is so worn off that it appears that way also. The area I found the button in was NC 3rd Regiment territory at the time. I found the button about 4 inches down in the ground in the middle of the forest just outside of Mint Hill, NC. Thanks for any feedback!

Attachments

• IMG_4170.jpg
    IMG_4170.jpg
    89.8 KB · Views: 105
  • IMG_4171.jpg
    IMG_4171.jpg
    81.5 KB · Views: 46
  • IMG_4172.jpg
    IMG_4172.jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_4173.jpg
    IMG_4173.jpg
    84 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_4174.jpg
    IMG_4174.jpg
    88.2 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_4176.jpg
    IMG_4176.jpg
    89.2 KB · Views: 45
Thank you very much! That first 'Dating Buttons' chart is what I found last night, and narrowed the button I have in question down with. From the chart, I believe it falls either under C (1760-1790) or E (1750-1812). Hopefully someone with some expertise in this time period will narrow it down. Thanks again!

Upvote 3