✅ SOLVED Possible (fake) copper Maravedis?

CitadelGrad08

Tenderfoot
Jul 16, 2014
Pacific NW
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Hello! I am new to Treasure Net and coin collecting. Recently I have started collecting Spanish coins (mainly shipwrecks and cobs) and I picked up this small coin because it was labeled as a Spanish 4 Maradevis from Carlos II era of 1665-1700. Upon looking at various online sites I have yet to find a Maravedis with similar markings and worry I bought a fake.

The coin is roughly the size of a US penny. I can make out the letters C A and numbers 94 on one side that appears next to some sort of shield or crest which looks to be a castle. On the other side there appears to be another shield around a lion.

It appears to be copper, but is more shiny than I expected for being such an old coin. The reason I believe it is a fake is that all of the Maravedis I have seen have different markings next the shields on both sides. Also the seller labeled it as a 4 Maravedis but it looks closer to a 2 Maravedis.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I did not spend a lot of money on this, but it would be reassuring if it is real and not a fake.

copper4.JPGcopper3.JPGcopper2.JPGcopper.JPG

welcome to tnet !!I look forward tou the experts chiming in.my simple guess and observation is that even the cracks look cast and edge looks abraded to remove cast markings.I know nothing of this particular coin and my observations are general.

cheers

Upvote 0
welcome to tnet !!I look forward tou the experts chiming in.my simple guess and observation is that even the cracks look cast and edge looks abraded to remove cast markings.I know nothing of this particular coin and my observations are general.

cheers

Thank you for the initial thoughts. Lets hope I wasn't duped!

Upvote 0
My first reaction is real.. I doubt they would make fake ones as they are not worth much. Yours however appears to be a nice one.

Post it in the Spanish Cob section for more info.

Upvote 0