Pleeeeeze Help with new detctor!

A nice simple detector would be a 300-400 dollar whites or garrett detector. Are you selling the 20 year old whites. If you are, I might like to buy. Matt

Screech,
I am no expert but you would be better off staying away from some of these unknown brands, instead focus on one of the more name brand units. Determine how much you want to spend, then what exactly do you plan to search for. Diffrent situtations call for diffrent kinds of machines. There are lots of good detectors out there, and everyone has their favorites. For instance we prefer machines that are light very senstive to small gold and dont have target ID meters, where as others couldnt live without their id meters. Thats why Im saying figure out the above things and go from there
hh

dave+bobbie

Check out the new Tesoro Cibola for $340. It is a new top of the line detector(no Tesoro does not sell on Kellyco). It has gotten rave reviews from users. For the money you will not find a deeper detector. Go to one of the Tesoro forums and check out the reviews.

By the way I agree with Dave stay with the major brands Whites, Minelab,Fisher, Garrett,Tesoro, Troy

George

Do your self a favor and stay away from detectors with names like MPX, Treasure Hunter, Treasure Tracker, Famous Trails, etc. Buy from one of the following (in no particular order)
White's, Garrett, Fisher, Minelab, Tesoro, and Bounty Hunter. Be carefull on e-Bay, there is a ton of junk detectors mixed in with the legit brands.

I see that you're wanting a simple detector. The above name brands are all good. Only you know what you want in a detector such as prospecting, coins, relics, or just a general purpose. You might look at the following site and read the reviews:? http://www.metaldetectorreviews.net/index.shtml Keep in mind they're showing retail prices and you can find better prices.
Welcome and Happy Hunting.