Need help identifying bullets

Bossgobbler23

Oct 24, 2004
Mid-Michigan
I am new at digging civil war relics. My knowlege is very basic at identifying even the most common bullets. I dug these bullets on a private farm with permission near the Gaines Mill battle area. I would like to make a display case and list what they are. For reference I believe the one on the far right is a .58 caliber. The one on the far left might be a Burnside? Beside the possible Burnside, the other 3 bullets have 2 rings. The bottom views are very different.

Also, I found a New York officers button with much of its gilding in tact. What New York unit(s) retreated and/or camped near the Powhite Farm near Gaines Mill?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thank You

Attachments

• cw bullets.jpg
    cw bullets.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 438
  • cw bullets2.jpg
    cw bullets2.jpg
    31.9 KB · Views: 422
Upvote 0
Starting from the Left:

1. May be a Gardiner that has been fired....Not sure but definitely CW

2. Sharps Carbine
Diameter Length Weight Caliber MM# TT#
.538 .871 381 .54 45V Base: 1

3.Sharps Carbine
.545 .965 442 .52 206 114b
Base: 5

4. Gardner Patent
.569 1.130 534 .577 173 162c
Base: 3

{Sentinel} said:
Starting from the Left:

1. May be a Gardiner that has been fired....Not sure but definitely CW

2. Sharps Carbine
.538 .871 381 .54 45V Base: 1

2.Sharps Carbine
.545 .965 442 .52 206 114b
Base: 5

3. Gardner Patent
.569 1.130 534 .577 173 162c
Base: 3

#1 is a Williams Cleaner without the twist off zinc bottom.

I tend to agree with the rest.

Burt

Thanks guys!
I did in fact find the Williams cleaner bullets with bases. I guess I never did consider that the base could've fallen off.

Are the Sharps & Gardner CSA?

You could probably get on ebay and find out what the gardners are selling for...d2