@Birgie33

Tenderfoot
Jan 30, 2020
Sumter
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Cibola
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good evening! I am new to TreasureNet, but have been told it is a great resource especially for ID'ing dug items. I dug this buckle last Sunday and have a dozen people helping me try to ID it with no luck so far. I've had one or two occasions over the years that I had to reach out to others to help ID an item. This one has got me and many others stumped!! In the area we dug Sunday between my wife and I we dug a full length harmonica reed, a flat button, a very old kind of odd shaped spoon, an 1892 V back nickle, and this buckle. It is fairly thin, has clipped corners, and I am almost certain it is brass. Any help ID'ing this item would be greatly appreciated!! TIA!!

Attachments

• buckle1.jpg
    buckle1.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 82
  • buckle2.jpg
    buckle2.jpg
    996.7 KB · Views: 75
tn_md.gif
I noticed this was your very first post - so, Welcome Aboard @Birgie33! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forum: Select Your Area.... for information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country). You might also consider adding your state (or country) to your displayed profile (SETTINGS -> EDIT PROFILE).

Members may have more success helping you if they know the general location of your find.

Upvote 0
Welcome to Tnet from Toronto Birgie! :hello:

These are commonly refereed to as a 'sash buckle'. :thumbsup:
I there's a hole above the sword, so there was likely an insignia or decoration of some sort mounted on the face as well

I don't think it's military related, more likely 'civilian fashion' or possibly from a fraternity or club of some kind.
These buckles were worn by both men and women from the 1850s - 1920s, your find looks to date from the 1880s. :icon_scratch:

That's a nice find,
Dave

Upvote 0
Thanks for the welcome firemanphob!