Looking for info on coin

goodguystu

Greenie
Dec 3, 2008
York,SC
Detector(s) used
Whites Prizm V
I have found what I believe is a US coin. It is the size of a quarter, made of copper, simply has the letters USA in script on the front, the back is just lines, no value, no date. I really don't know what it is, one person thinks it is a civil war coin, possibly a token was another guess. Anyone know or seen something like this before? Thanks for any help.

sounds like a bar coin to me, a copper coin from1785 if its real. mail it to me and I ll tell if its real lol!

Upvote 0
The Bar "Copper".

Hi Stu, I am relatively new to this forum but I've been collecting coins for 35 years. It sounds like to me that you are describing a very rare colonial coin called a "Bar Copper". They closely resemble a revolutionary war coat button on the front with the letters USA intertwined. On the backside will be 13 horizontal bars. No date but they were believed to be made around 1785. Get a Red Book ( R. S. Yeomans guide to United States coins) and you can see more information there. Post a pic if you get a chance as it's a fantastic find. I've never seen one other than in books or magazines. Let us know what you find out. Might want to get this one slabbed.

therick

Upvote 0
Ya, copper Bar token need some pics to confirm, sounds a little fishy though being your first post and all, no pic, and this definately aint the first time its happened pic included.

Badger

Attachments

• 118193595_o.jpg
    118193595_o.jpg
    55.5 KB · Views: 887
Upvote 0
You actually have a bar copper coin you found? Thats unreal I'v only heard of one other dug on this forum.

Upvote 0
It will be interesting to see the photo if it comes around. Hopefully its the real deal for you - Those are a bit hard to come by. Take a peek around here.

Upvote 0