Found this old sword - maker and age?

Chad1978

Dec 27, 2014
Orlando, FL
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro / Fisher CZ-20
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
So I came across this sword at a garage sale, and while I am far from a weapons expert, it looked quit old and authentic. Just looking for a "second" and "third" opinion on whether it is real and manufacturer/age? My suspicion is a German made gentleman's hunting sword 18th century or 19th century?

Any and all thoughts, opinions are appreciated!

thanks.

Attachments

• sword 1.jpg
    sword 1.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 221
  • sword 2.jpg
    sword 2.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 274
  • sword 3.jpg
    sword 3.jpg
    908.9 KB · Views: 187
  • sword 4.jpg
    sword 4.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 199
Are there any stamps on the blade near the hilt?

Upvote 0
^^^^^ Any markings on the blade?

Does appear to be a hunting sword (aka Hanger"). I believe the dog heads on the cross-guard were used by Germanic States and the French.

Upvote 0
I cant seem to remove blade form scabbard - don't want to destroy sword

how could I try to remove the sword form scabbard without breaking it...oil?

Upvote 0
First things first; you have to separate it from the scabbard. Is the very tip of the scabbard intact? it looks like it may be broken off. If so, get some oil on the blade through the break. If not, try to get some between the sword hilt and the scabbard. Don't get into too big of a rush. The scabbard looks fragile. EXCELLENT find!

Upvote 0
Two choices: a good penetrating oil (Liquid Wrench, PB Blast, Barricade) or a corrosion breaker/preventive (CorrosionX)

Try not to get any on the grip, so apply it point down. Let it sit overnight (or longer).