Found a spot to dig in Massachusetts!

danjsargent

Jan 1, 2016
western MA
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
So I am a newbie for sure. First metal detector was for Christmas so I have been out a total of 3 or 4 times. But I love researching local history so Winter has not been unproductive! Anyways, found a place through research I thought may have an old cellar hole from a farmhouse. Went there today and sure enough it was there, barely! Its in a wooded area, lots of leaves on the ground so I was able to dig some targets with a but of struggle but I managed. Found what I think is an old pulley or perhaps a wheel? What do you think? Also, how do I clean this? I soaked it a bit and got a good amount of but not sure what else to do. Any tips would be appreciated.

Heres hoping for some real treasures when the ground isnt ice!! ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1453850336.954221.jpgImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1453850350.621771.jpg

Upvote 12
Try soaking in apple cider vinegar :icon_thumleft:

WELCOME NEW MEMBER AND NOT SURE WHAT YOUR FIND IS BUT INTERESTING . I WAS AT A STORE FEW HOURS AGO AND A BUNCH OF GIGANTIC SNOW PLOWS FROM MASS WAS CALLED TO HELP PLOW THE ROADS BECAUSE MARYLAND DOSENT HAVE EQUIPMENT TO HANDLE IT . DANG TRUCKS ARE MASSIVE . ONE GUY SAID THIS IS NOTHING COMPARED TO WHAT THEY GET .

Welcome to the party. Nice that you found something. Good Luck and Happy Hunting with the new Metal Detector.

Two guesses:

Is it a crank wheel from a coffee grinder?
or,
if the outer rim is narrow, might be a wheel for a very early toy; they were a horse pulling a two wheel cart.

We had 6-7" here, and now in a very warm spell, so I may not be done with the 2015 MD season...yet. The woods were not frozen, so that warmer ground might melt the snow quicker.

What detector did you get for the holidays? Good luck to ya on future hunts as well!

Welcome nice find keep posting love to see peoples finds. You got a detector for Christmas it is addicting and lots of fun.