Chirp Digger

Greenie
Aug 12, 2023
PEI
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
To begin, I am relatively new to metal detecting... when I found these bars, I was even newer so I really wasn't taking note of details as I do now... a whole 6 months later. I live in Prince Edward Island, Canada's smallest province, and we are surrounded by shipwrecks and a million stories.
I am wondering if anyone here has an opinion or experience that matches the research I have done so far. I initially thought these bars were lead. On beaches here there are ridiculous amounts of small lead bits, some raw and unrecognizable, some are fishing weights. I have since confirmed that they are silver.
I added an old quarter to one picture for scale, and a picture of a small bar I sacrificed to do some testing on.
Any thoughts?

Attachments

• silver 1.jpg
    silver 1.jpg
    381.3 KB · Views: 172
  • silver 2.jpg
    silver 2.jpg
    897.4 KB · Views: 136
  • silver 3.jpg
    silver 3.jpg
    859.3 KB · Views: 136
  • silver 4.jpg
    silver 4.jpg
    828.2 KB · Views: 137
Hi from your bridge-linked neighbour! These pieces of metal are difficult to ID regardless of their composition, but being silver makes it harder still.
They appear to have a functional shape, not just bullion bars. I can't think of any article that they might have been part of. Seem too heavy for jewelry.
The only think I can think of is bars of silver solder. They would have some silver in them. But their shapes do not support that idea.
So a mystery. It might help to determine the silver concentration and that would also help to value them.

Upvote 3
Hi from your bridge-linked neighbour! These pieces of metal are difficult to ID regardless of their composition, but being silver makes it harder still.
They appear to have a functional shape, not just bullion bars. I can't think of any article that they might have been part of. Seem too heavy for jewelry.