Ever seen one of these?

JWT70

May 26, 2012

Attachments

• 1438048420495.jpg
    1438048420495.jpg
    66.6 KB · Views: 194
I've seen similar in front of my Neighbors house & others
in the 60's / 70's usually with plants in them.
possible also in Cemeteries , But
Not enough info & I'm not experienced enough to know if
that one is same age or Very old.

Cool find though !

Upvote 0
Speaking for myself as a T'Netter, I am more than happy to spend a lot of time researching interesting treasure finds. If you know what your find is I will be happy to learn from you - and if you don't know what it is I will be happy to help us both learn.

Where (within reason) was it found?
What material is it? (Almost looks like cement based :icon_scratch:).
Any stopper in it? Any discernible residues/odour, in it?
Is there any sign of a handle attachment - past or present?
What are your thoughts regarding the object?

Cheers, Mike

Upvote 0
Looks like an ancient wine vessel (Amphora). Can't be sure of it's authenticity (age) though without background info, and or seeing it in person.
Lacking handles, may be because it's a smaller one.
Google that and check out images....or wikki amphora.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I searched for wine container and only found one photo and couldn't find the word amphora. That was the word (amphora) that I was looking for. I have seen them in books and on TV being recovered from a shipwreck or ancient Egyptian tomb.

Upvote 0
There were so many differing styles and sizes, made and traded in so many different regions for 1000's of years (wine trade was huge!)
A variety of these vessels are still being made today.
The 8,000 Year History Of Wine Transport And Storage

I'm not saying this is what it is, but it sure fits. Just don't know if it's "ancient".
A history on the items would be nice. Like Mike said, "where was it found, when, what history does JWT70 have on it?"

Upvote 0