Don in SJ- Update- A few from my Military Career

Don in SJ

Silver Member
May 20, 2005
Detector(s) used
MINELAB SE Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
A rather recent photo of me(Oct 2006) while we were taking our lunch break on a non-detecting Field Trip exploring an old saw mill pond and several homesteads from early 1800's.
I have been detecting since 1979, when while bow hunting I eyeballed my first old coin, a 1740 King George II halfpenny laying in the loose sugar sand on the side of a old stage road. That piqued my interest in metal detecting, I previously had detected with a Heath-kit I had built, but never realized at the time that such old coins and artifacts were in my area to find.
Now many years later, the hobby has been very rewarding to me an I have enjoyed finding what I have and had the side benefit of one of my sons being my best buddy and hunting partner for the past 20+ years.
Don in South Jersey :)

Attachments

• GibsonFive2.jpg
    GibsonFive2.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 1,961
Re: Field Trip Guide :) Don in SJ

Hey there Don. I believe we spoke in the chat room the other day. Welcome!! I'm in Cookstown, near McGuire. Perhaps one day we can get together to sling some dirt.

Nice to see ya, Don. You always post such fantastic finds that I can only drool over. :P

Talk to you in chat. :)

Hiya Don,

Great to see you. You look like a rugged, outdoors guy...fits the description of a field trip guide. I've read some of your posts...all very interesting finds. It's always nice to chat with you in chat.

;) RR

Well, since most of my working life was spent in the Military, decided to show the last four photos taken before my retirement. I also added one from the beginning of my USAF career. :)

The one with the gals, is from a training deployment to Alpena Michigan, nice area, enjoyed seeing the Black Squirrels that inhabited the air base there.