tinner

Sep 29, 2021
north west U.S.
Detector(s) used
Manticore
Equinox 800
garrett 400
Hello everyone,
I'm considering a Deus 2. I've been using a Minelab 800 for several years now and want to upgrade. I tried a 900 but didn't at all like the way the target ID bounced all over the place compared to the 800. I'm wondering if the Deus 2 does the same thing and also how it might compare with the Manticore which i'm also considering .
Any help is much appreciated and thanks in advance!!

Upvote 2
Hello everyone,
I'm considering a Deus 2. I've been using a Minelab 800 for several years now and want to upgrade. I tried a 900 but didn't at all like the way the target ID bounced all over the place compared to the 800. I'm wondering if the Deus 2 does the same thing and also how it might compare with the Manticore which i'm also considering .
Any help is much appreciated and thanks in advance!!
If I'm understanding what you mean, I've noticed this, but only in trashy ground or with a lot of targets to bounce off of, and I haven't found it particularly annoying/troublesome.

For record-keeping, I either:
  1. annotate bouncing with a slash/solidus (/) and a range with a hyphen/minus, or
  2. prefix with low, mid, or hi (e.g. "mid 70s", "low 90s")

My final choice was between the Dēus II and Manticore. I'm completely satisfied with the Dēus II, but I think I would also be completely satisfied with the Manticore. Comparisons have been--and will continue to be--made, but IMO most have been really nitpicky. IMO, the two machines are so close, it comes down to aesthetics rather than functionality.

Can we assume you're familiar with Merrill's comparison/reviews?

(And many many more comparison vids of these two machines)

One difference that mattered to me is that the Dēus II is completely wireless, and the Manticore is not. Changing coils on the fly takes seconds instead of minutes, and no PITA cables.