✅ SOLVED Anybody good with pottery?

JohnDee1

Jul 28, 2018
Georgia
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey y’all I have with me today these black/green pottery. I find them in a specific corner of the property, and I cannot identify them. I find a tons of different pottery types, yet I cannot identify these. Can anyone help me with the age or type of these shreds. Thanks for reading! 4E22E9CF-535D-459B-BE60-09976FB089A4.jpeg0654F424-AC28-4CCB-856C-1D556A5FBB5E.jpeg

I thought maybe a raku fire pot but it looks like its glazed so idk.....

Upvote 0
Can you post a photo showing the broken edge of a piece? It might help to see the type of clay it was made from. I was thinking perhaps Susquehannock but I need to see the clay. Thanks in advance, cool find!

Upvote 0
I'm no expert when it comes to Colonial American pottery, but I'm thinking what you have there is an early 'redware' pot. :icon_scratch:
Dave

"The earliest American pottery of some interest was first made in the State of Pennsylvania, in the mid-eighteenth century. Though practically all pottery objects made were required for everyday use of the early colonial settlers of the 17th century, none was made with any form of decorative patterning except perhaps for an imprinted mark that identified one owner from another. Understanding the types of pottery that have been made in or imported to America can be difficult to sort through. The average New England household in the 17th century could contain an assortment of ceramics from Europe, the Mediterranean and the Orient. Trade up and down the Atlantic coast was taking place among the Dutch, English and Spanish. The inventories of early 17th century New England households in the Boston area have shown to contain Dutch and English delft, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese majolica, porcelain, imported redware and locally manufactured redware.