All Treasure Hunting

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    1,018.3 KB · Views: 114
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    823.7 KB · Views: 110
Has funny worn patterns to me. just on the outside edges?

Upvote 0
Try flipping it down on a hard surface like a wooden table top. silver will ring. Lead will be a thud. I'm not an expert on these, but check around. These Spanish coins were reproduced.

Upvote 0
looks like a repro Atocha coin and yes they are made of silver. Google it and you should find an exact match. Most of the "treasure" coins do not have such a clear strike....you can also easily tell if it is cast or hand struck with it in hand.

Upvote 0
If that one is a fake, I think its a pretty good one, I don't say this very often, but I would need to handle that one. What's the edge look like?

Upvote 0
If its fake its a pretty good one. What looks like funny wear patterns was actually where the cob was shaved to the proper weight. No 2 cobs are exactly alike so the search begins for a match. There are many good hammered replicas on the market now and also fakes on eBay.

Here is one I found thats authentic and you can see similar funny wear patterns where it was shaved. Mine is a different cross.

cobback1.jpgcobfront1.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 0
What I like & is hard to fake, is the toning & if you look at the wear on the top of the Crown, all looks as I would expect.

Upvote 0
We have a Spanish Cob section. Some of those guys have knowlege specific to Spanish cobs. They may be able to tell you.

Upvote 0
Is it gold or silver? Looks like a gold Mexican 8 Escudo. Cant see the date but isnt this a shield match with a 1731?

gold escudo 1731.jpg

cob unknown.jpegcob unknown obverse.jpeg

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Upvote 0
First photo, top r.h. corner appears to be shrinkage due to under pour. It looks like a casting

Upvote 0
More pictures please. The entire rim looks funky. Can we see some edge photos?

Upvote 0