Adjusting this dredge for fine gold

Strebs

May 16, 2014
New Mexico
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello, I've gotten the OK from the wife to dredge full time this summer. I have gotten permission to work a 1 mile stretch of private land in southwest Colorado. The land I'm working is 1/2 mile south of the old stamp mills that crushed rocks since the early 1900s til about 1950s. Also had two placer operations in the 1880s that said made about 15 dollars a day to the man which is about 1-2 miles north of me. The elevation is about 9300 feet. Anyways i have this old gold king 4 inch dredge and would like to make it work since cash is always tight. I was thinking about an over/under but with a crash box didn't know if that would work. I am new to dredging and finding out in the school of hard knocks. I was up for the last two weeks adjusting and working out the kinks. The box is 5 feet long and had the angle set at 5 inch. I didn't "hog" material in the box and seemed to clear very nicely, but when i tested the first 3 riffles never found more than 10-15 specks of fine gold. I have 1/2 inch punch plate on the first half of the box. I also just have carpet the whole length of the box. If anyone has any suggestions or advice i'd greatly appreciate it
13319861_1026357694111492_5697494236958314447_n.jpg
13335587_1026357817444813_6766898346025124562_n.jpg
13343132_1026358027444792_6710594130589373518_n.jpg