abandoned mine-HELP !!!!!!!!

gold fish

Bronze Member
Sep 21, 2006
N.W.A.
Detector(s) used
Tesoro - Cortez Minelab SE
So, my wife is from california, and in 5 DAYS were heading out to visit her family.........

Her father is a BIG time hunter(like, with a gun)............

One of the spots that they regularily hunt is an ABANDONED tungsten mine.........

I am new to detecting and have never even SEEN an old mine site(I'm from WI). In all his years going to this spot they have never even seen signs of other people. He says that it's a shaft mine, he's even been in the mouth of the mineshaft. There are a bunch of mostly standing buildings.There is also a "tailing" sluice leading out of one of the buildings.

WHERE DO I START?!???!!?!!?

I will have AT BEST one day to hit this spot, do I hit the buildings? the tailings? is tungsten worth anything? what would the building that they got paid from look like? where would they have slept?

I have no locational info on this spot, I have never even seen pictures of it!! If any one could give me info on where to look I would GREATLY appreciate it!!! I will definately post pics an reports when I get back(maybe even from CA if I find something that makes me all shakey)

I would hit around the buildings first, then the paths or driveways. Whatever you do, stay away from any vertical shafts! Also be on the look out for any shafts in the ground covered by rotten boards. Once you fall in you might not get out. Remember be CAREFUL! I have hunted old mine sites and I watched my step because you never know what could be hiding under that piece of metal you over turn. And if you are out in the middle of nowhere it's hard to get medical attention. Don't mean to sound like a mother hen but it only takes one mistake to ruin a good hunting trip. Have fun and don't forget to post your finds.

I have actually handled a couple of rattlers, and I'l have people with me (my wife and her dad). I should be OK,thanx tho' mom ;D