New, looking for florida beach ideas

pmistel

Feb 24, 2008
I just ordered a Garrett Ace 250. I have five and three year old boys, and the five year old has been watching the "Indiana Jones" movies lately. We have been talking about treasure hunting so I ordered the Garrett. We are going to Florida in March and I was wondering if the beaches are a good place to look? I guess we probably won't find Spanish Doubloons, but maybe some lost jewelry?

I have always wanted to get a MD, so I am excited. Maybe I will shed a few pounds.

I guess I am just looking for some ideas about where to look on a Florida beach, so we can find something and not be too disappointed. All advice is welcome, we are newbie's

Thanks

Peter

osiris661

Sep 9, 2005
Key Biscayne, Florida
Detector(s) used
Excal II, Surf PI Pro, Garrett Ace250, DFX e-Series, Fisher 1280X
I have been hunting "South" Florida beaches for many years and can tell you that the highest probability of finding coins/jewelry/etc. is within 50 to 100 feet on either side of the lifegaurd stands. You can find great things all over the beach and there is no one perfect spot but if you are looking to increase your odds stick around the lifegaurd stands and go at night on a Friday or a Sunday right after the sun sets. Most (not all) Metal Detectorists hit the beaches in the early mornings so beat them to it and go at night after the sun sets. BTW, the Ace 250 is a great dry sand beach machine. Enjoy!!!

YankeeDownSouthAdv.

Bronze Member
Jun 28, 2005
alachua county, FL
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Nokta Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i have always found at least one or 2 good things each time at the beach, plus alot of clad, what part of florida, east or west coast?...six

Tim_IL

May 23, 2008
IL
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Whites DFX