WW I Iron Cross: real or fake?

Dodger2

Mar 4, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Greetings:

In cleaning out my dad's many collectibles (a really good stamp collection, coins, etc., etc.,) I came across what appears to be a WW I Iron Cross. It has passed the magnetic test. The suspension ring has a maker's mark, but I can't distinguish the letters. Wondering if it's real and if anyone has seen a similar maker's mark. Thanks so much! (BTW, it was in a velvet bag with a Gott Mit Uns belt buckle.) 20200304_103714.jpg20200303_160500.jpg20200303_160507.jpg20200304_103630.jpg

Looks real to me, but I'm no expert...
Awesome piece!!

Upvote 0
My hunch is that my dad purchased the Iron Cross (2nd class) at a sale of some sort. No one in my family fought in WWI, so I don't know how it got to the States. I do know that there are lots and lots of Iron Cross's (2nd class) around (just look at eBay!) I did some reading up on the award and tests for authenticity, but I really need an expert evaluation. Will be heading to a larger city soon and will try to find someone who can evaluate the piece. In the meantime, I appreciate all the feedback!

Upvote 0
I'll agree that it looks real. This page has a list of LDO codes and maker marks - maybe you can find some ideas there. I can't quite read them either, but I think I see a "G" in there.

Upvote 0
My hunch is that my dad purchased the Iron Cross (2nd class) at a sale of some sort. No one in my family fought in WWI, so I don't know how it got to the States. I do know that there are lots and lots of Iron Cross's (2nd class) around (just look at eBay!) I did some reading up on the award and tests for authenticity, but I really need an expert evaluation. Will be heading to a larger city soon and will try to find someone who can evaluate the piece. In the meantime, I appreciate all the feedback!

Wehrmacht awards web site can authenticate for you fairly easily.

Main page of the website.