DSCN2098.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 171
  • DSCN2097.JPG
    DSCN2097.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 103
  • DSCN2096.JPG
    DSCN2096.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 121
Looks like White Quartz to me. Might have some Crystal Quartz also. But I am no rock expert...sooo....LOL

Upvote 0
I 2nd quartz. some might call it milky quartz. Part of it does have some crystals formation. They generally grow like that in a void or open cavity gas bubble when the host rock was cooling down or other type of events in the formation it came from. The rusty stuff is iron and the green could be the mineral olivine ?

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I 2nd quartz. some might call it milky quartz. Part of it does have some crystals formation. They generally grow like that in a void or open cavity gas bubble when the host rock was cooling down or other type of events in the formation it came from. The rusty stuff is iron and the green could be the mineral olivine ?

Ok Thanks a lot, Retired Fire and Tamrock. The mystery has been solved. I was thinking the green may have been algae.

Upvote 0
I cracked open that rock. It has a really interesting texture inside. I was even able to chip off a few crystals.DSCN2120.JPGDSCN2126.JPGDSCN2128.JPGDSCN2129.JPGDSCN2133.JPG

Upvote 0
Nooooo never crack it open or feed it after midnight!!!!

Quartz.

Upvote 0
There is enough mineralization, and since you started to break it up, I would crush it up and pan it. you never know until you look.

Upvote 0
I cracked open that rock. It has a really interesting texture inside. I was even able to chip off a few crystals.View attachment 1399030View attachment 1399031View attachment 1399032View attachment 1399033View attachment 1399034
NM, I'm a geologist. It appears you found milky quartz with quartz crystal over growths that came from a rather sizable vein of hydrothermal origin.

The residual impurities and after placement mineralization are the stained and weak plane shown when broken/fractured.