What in tarnation is this?

eddiecurrent

Dec 25, 2015
Treasure coast Fl.
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1236-x2, fisher cz3d and cz 20, tesoro golden sabre II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I found it on someone's move out pile. It's in a beautiful wood case, I'd date it to the 50's or 60's judging by the electric cord and motor.
The top slides up and off to reveal a plexiglass-enclosed apparatus, quality built, unusual attention to detail, I looked into the base and all that's there is a motor to drive the mechanism. I tried to plug it in to start it, but even tho' I'm a tech I can't figure out how the switch...built on the mechanism in a small metal enclosure, works. It has only a small rubber pulley on it.
I at first guessed what you might be thinking, that this was some kind of ticker tape reader for stocks, but there's no data or signal input, just the motor to drive the mechanism.
Granted, I don't know if anything's been modified or removed, it doesn't appear that way. This thing is beautiful but what in the heck IS IT?
any guesses?

100_5924.JPG100_5925.JPG100_5923.JPG100_5922.JPG

I did a couple searches just out of curiosity... nothing.

Have you plugged it in and turned it on to see what it "will appear" to be doing ?

Upvote 0
I recognize the UNITED logo and the color of the machine but cant place it. But there must be a plate with model numbers, patents, etc. and we could google it.

Upvote 0
This is just an way out there guess by looking at design.....And is the roll or stuff on there regular paper or something else?