Water Flow in Sluith

Oatman174500

Tenderfoot
May 22, 2024
I am new to the gold hunting hobby and I have a sluith with a home made set up that I run material through. My question is I am not sure about how much flow of water I should have so that the sluith catches the gold. In my area Pa. we for the most part have small flakes and what I am going to call mico gold. I told a video of my sluith running yesterday and would love to send the video to someone who would be willing to look at it and give me their thoughts on the water flow.
I can't attach a video to this forum or at least I am not sure how to. If someone would be willing to review the video that would be great but I think I would need that persons email address so that I can send the video but I am not sure that is proper for someone to post their email address. Does anybody have any other ideas on how I can post the video and get feedback on my water flow
thanks
Ken

Upvote 1
Welcome to the forum, first it's called a sluice box. Can you post a picture of it. Your design will determine flow rates and maybe we can help you with ways to improve flow and gold catching.

Here are a few pictures
water comes out of the top white pipe and hits the back of the silver tray and then washes the dirt down the sluith.
I have the sluith at about a 7 degree angle
I have a 650 gal per hour pump but I only have it at about half pressure
thanks

Attachments

• sluith 1.jpg
    sluith 1.jpg
    136.8 KB · Views: 19
  • sluith2.jpg
    sluith2.jpg
    115 KB · Views: 19
  • image3.jpg
    image3.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 19
Ken, I have a suggestion for you. First, do not try to sluice big and powdery material all at the same time. Invest in some classifying screens. I would suggest you get a set of say 4, 8 16, 30, 50 and 100 mesh.