Two firsts for me today!!

DKinPA

Aug 21, 2005
Central Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75 LTD, Minelab ETrac & Tesoro Silver UMax
I had no after work commitments tonight so I took advantage of the "decent" weather, 46 degrees and not raining....that is pretty decent after the winter we lived through in PA this year! I went to a local baseball field / picnic grove that I have been hunting for the last four years or so. I have had moderate success here in the past with clad coinage, wheats and a piece of silver or two....but tonight was the best yet!! This field holds water like a sponge and there was a considerable amount of area that was just too wet to walk through so I picked a corner that was dry and started swingin'. There is a considerable amount of trash here to work through but shortly after I started the F75 LTD hit hard and loud with a VID locked on at 90 and I could tell from the pinpoint it had coin potential. The machine said 7" so I took a full plug and there she was lookin' up at me.....my first ever Walking Liberty Half!!! A 1943 in pretty good shape! I thought my night was made until I moved about 3' and hit a solid repeatable nickel signal at 6". Again, a full plug and there was a nickel. At this point I had no idea what nickel but nickel none the less. About 6' away I hit a nice solid 68 on the VID and popped a 1930 wheat cent from about 6" deep.
After getting home I could see the nickel was a Liberty Head V nickel....wow....another first. This baby needs some serious help to get a date off of though....any suggestions?

Enjoy the pics and thanks for looking!! Happy Hunting!

Dave

Attachments

• 43Walker_Vnickel.jpg
    43Walker_Vnickel.jpg
    85.3 KB · Views: 590
  • 1943 Walker.jpg
    1943 Walker.jpg
    187.4 KB · Views: 587
Upvote 0