trouble with beach

indianhead

Jan 18, 2008
I have been looking at this site for over a year and love it!!!!. I have been detecting for almost 2 years and have found alot of great coins including a 1864 indian a 1877 franc a 1890 seated dime and several barbers . I hunted a beach over the summer which produced coins galore and gold and silver jewelry. I recently recieved permission to hunt a larger beach miles away but when I arrived and started, my machine went nuts and beeped constantly I went back a couple times cleaned my machine ect to try to resolve the problem ,but to no avail. I own a Whites Prizm IV and am thinking of upgrading to a MXT or a M6. I do not want to invest the money and have the same problem. I learned that this beach was a quarry long ago. I was thinking of getting some sand from this beach and taking it to a couple dealers and testing their machines on this sand. I am the only person to hunt this beach and it has been in operation for decades. I know I can litteraly pay for the new detector in a short time. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please help with info . My favorite coins are indinhead pennies but I have high hopes to someday find a large cent. Yes silver is great too.

Consider a Minelab Sov GT or Excal for your beach hunting.

Don't put any stock in a "pot full of sand test".

I can go to the ocean beach and my cz will work the best and go the deepest, but when I get home, the pot of sand causes two other detectors to read it deeper in the pot. The cz then becomes third place. The same thing happens with regualr soil but the Compass gets the edge in depth there before bringing t home in a pot.