This is what i have got out of 4 scoops of black sand.

chriseneim

May 5, 2013
My qes is I have soaked this in HCL and it seems to get even more bright after. I am new to panning and really confused as to if gold should be more yellow or if this is possibly gold flakes or just a bunch of mica. I would really love some help as to what to look for when panning and what real gold will look like in pan compared to pyrite or mica. I know most mica and pyrite will burn off when in HCL but I don't want to jump the gun and say I got gold when really it's just a bunch of junk. I have at least 50 lbs of the dirt and black sand this came from and would love some tips. Thanks guys.

Attachments

• image-577734168.jpg
    image-577734168.jpg
    98.6 KB · Views: 316
  • image-4119574811.jpg
    image-4119574811.jpg
    102.3 KB · Views: 288
Upvote 0
if you gently swish the stuff around in water, the pyrite and mica will easily move with the water. The black sand will move less, and the gold won't move much at all. there are many online videos that will show you how to do this with a pan. from your picture, it all looks like unwanteds--- maybe some gold underneath.

if you gently swish the stuff around in water, the pyrite and mica will easily move with the water. The black sand will move less, and the gold won't move much at all. there are many online videos that will show you how to do this with a pan. from your picture, it all looks like unwanteds--- maybe some gold underneath.