Possible silver???

buckhunter7

Tenderfoot
Apr 6, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First off I am new to this site, and a newbie to metal detecting... My name is Jason and my question is this... I was going thru some of my grandmothers things today and ran across some old forks, some have the description HE-MO-JO SILVER METAL engraved on the back and the others have 1847 ROGERS BROS on the back, are they actually silver or just junk? Thanks in advance for any input... Jason

And how would I test them? Like I said I am new to this... lol

Upvote 0
First off I am new to this site, and a newbie to metal detecting... My name is Jason and my question is this... I was going thru some of my grandmothers things today and ran across some old forks, some have the description HE-MO-JO SILVER METAL engraved on the back and the others have 1847 ROGERS BROS on the back, are they actually silver or just junk? Thanks in advance for any input... Jason

Flatware made by the 1847 Rogers Brothers is silver plated. The date of 1847 does not mean the flatware was made in 1847; it was part of the company name.

My personal opinion: I wouldn't refer to anything my grandmother owned as 'just junk.' I mean no disrespect to you, but I only have 3 items that belonged to my grandmother, none are really valuable money wise, but sentimentally they are priceless. She died before I was born, so I never got the opportunity to know her in person.

Welcome to the forum. Breezie

Upvote 0