cambria09

Bronze Member
Jun 10, 2012
Florida
Detector(s) used
Mine Lab Sovereign Elite, Mine Lab Etrac, Garrett ATMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello All. I found these locks in an old garbage pit a few days ago.

At first glance they were very toasty and I nearly re-trashed 'em but decided to take a closer look later...after some light cleaning they appear to be well made and maybe older than I first thought.

I am no lock expert but I am thinking that since most iron evaporates here in FL maybe these are older locks that were preserved among the garbage.

Many thanks for any info and Good Luck out there. C9

Attachments

• 1 TV Trash Pit Locks1.jpg
    1 TV Trash Pit Locks1.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 88
  • 2 TV Trash Pit Locks2.jpg
    2 TV Trash Pit Locks2.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 96
Your two padlocks are referred to as "tinnies". Light weight locks punched out of thin sheets of metal. Wide range of manufacturing dates anywhere from 1890's - 1930's were really the hayday. However some used into the 50's. From pic, the one in the lower right looks like to me a lower case e in a circle. If that is what it looks like to you....it's an Eagle Lock Co padlock.

Upvote 0
what he said but just picture me saying it Cool finds

Upvote 0
Nothing to lose at this point, try soaking them in apple cider vinegar for a couple of days, it will remove ALOT of the rust, and you'll be able to see things a lot better.

Upvote 0
I needed that info apple cider vinager Thanks

Upvote 0