New MD user/B.H. Tracker IV

S

snoopy38

I need to buy some headphones for my Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, which I ordered and it will be here next week. I've never tried this hobby before and I'm looking forward to trying it. Does it take a 1/4" headphone jack or 1/8" jack? Anyone know? Has anyone tried the cordless ones? Are they expensive? Is anyone still up out there? Thanks!

Don't scrimp on the quality of head phones. A 1/4" jack is standard. Forget the cordless ones, they are more trouble. It's 4:45 AM here and I think I am up.

HH,
Sandman

Thanks Sandman. My sister is trying to buy headphones for my Xmas gift and she's busy on ebay. Right now, she wants to know if I would like Fisher or Vanco headphones. Any thoughts here? Will any headphones work?

Grey Ghost makes phones expecially for MDing, they operate in the 10mhz range, any 1/4" set with separate volume controls on each ear piece should be ok. I've been using Sony ear buds with the 1/4 to 1/8" adapter - I like them better in the summer, but like my big ones in the winter.

I started out using the light-weight headphones,I allready had them with my mp3 player and it was summer so they are nice and light. I wound up pulling the cord too hard on them one day and was forced to use some big Sony headphones that came with a detector I had purchased. I must admit I was simply shocked at the difference. The sounds are so much clearer and little bitty sounds Im sure I never would have heard before or at least paid attention to are soild enough to catch my interest. I have to say Ive dug a lot more deeper targets since Ive gone with the big headphones though I know they will be hot as hell in the summer it would break my heart to give them up...Shoot