My coin rings

Jack Burton

Greenie
Apr 30, 2005
I wasnt sure which forum this should be posted under, so mods move it if you feel it necessary. I have been 2 coin rings on and off for about a month in between schoolwork. I graduated yesterday, so I put the finishing touches on the clad 1996 quarter I was working on. I also did a 1964 Kennedy half. The half fits on my ring finger and the quarter fits on my pinky. I actually kind of like how the clad quarter ring came out. Since it is only silver plated, during the hammering process the silver plating made 2 silver bands on the outside of the ring, while the middle of the band is copper. Here are some pics:

This one is the clad quarter, I know its a bad phone cam pic, but if you look close you can see the silver bands on the outside of the copper.

This is the Kennedy.

Upvote 0
Those rings are very nice :o

How do you make them?

floatcopper

Hey Jack Burton! Those rings are beautiful! You did good! And congratulations on the graduation! :D Only thing is... now it's time to get a J O B ! ;D

Nana ;)

A job well done. WTG

Attachments

• happy.jpg
    happy.jpg
    3.3 KB · Views: 435
  • happy.jpg
    happy.jpg
    3.3 KB · Views: 437
That guide is pretty much how I do it. The only difference is that I use a trailer hitch, and a machinists hammer instead of a block of steel and a spoon, and I also use a mini hobby lathe when sanding and polishing. Thanks for the comments guys.

allen said:
cool rings. But isnt it against the law to deface american coinage?????
I dont think so. Someone posted this question once and I thought the concensus was a no.

Great Rings and Congratulations on your Graduation. HH

nedigger said:
I wonder if anyone has ever made a ring out of a double eagle?

Wouldn't that be a sin! :o Thanks for posting the instructions. I've been looking for them. I didn't know it could be done with a clad. How long did it take? Tell us more!