digger460

Silver Member
Sep 19, 2015
Southeast Grundy, Illinois
Detector(s) used
EQ600, EQ800 and a Carrot
Primary Interest:
Other
I posted this on Today's Find's a few day's ago with some other things I dug. What I would like to know is what type of vehicle it may have been on. What I do know is that it is a Leece-Neville 2" Amp Gauge Vintage - Model 354.

Any car expert's help me out on this one. DSCF1584.JPG

Thanks
Steve

I am by no means an expert on old cars, but I own a couple of them, and have been around them most of my life.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leece-Neville

I can not recall seeing one like this before. Here is a list of cars, it "might" have come from:

Pierce, Chalmers, Metz, Mitchel, Saxon, Simplex or ACME. These cars are from the 19teens... brass touring car type stuff. My knowledge starts just after these vehicles.

The Wiki entry says that they were involved in a lot more than just passenger cars, airplanes, fire trucks etc., so this could be from another application.

I hope that this helps.

Upvote 0
There is not a lot to go on here. Like Tom said. the application could be endless and could even go into Early Generators or monitoring equipment. You will not be able to pin point what it came off of unless you find another piece of what ever it came off of in the vicinity. Me thinks dead end.

Upvote 0
I am by no means an expert on old cars, but I own a couple of them, and have been around them most of my life.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leece-Neville

I can not recall seeing one like this before. Here is a list of cars, it "might" have come from:

Pierce, Chalmers, Metz, Mitchel, Saxon, Simplex or ACME. These cars are from the 19teens... brass touring car type stuff. My knowledge starts just after these vehicles.

The Wiki entry says that they were involved in a lot more than just passenger cars, airplanes, fire trucks etc., so this could be from another application.

I hope that this helps.