✅ SOLVED Is this a bullet?

Sager8130

Apr 3, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Is this a bullet? - SOLVED

I'm new to metal detecting and have found it to be a great way to spend time with my 7 year old son and also a very exciting hobby. I've found a few things, a couple of cheap rings, some modern coins, and some other junk, but this has me puzzled.

I live in Southern Maine on land that used to be used for just about everything from farming, to logging and granite cutting. There has also been a lot of hunting on this land. The ground has just thawed out enough to be able to dig in some places so my son and I got out on our property with the metal detector for the first time on Saturday for about an hour.

Right on the side of the main trail not to far in we found this piece of what I believe is lead. My first thought was that it was a fired bullet but it seems like it could be a musket ball or something. It has some rough scratch marks on it and looks like the could be a seam in it too.

Does anyone know what this is?

Thanks in advance for your help.

DF27A9DA-99CF-4C8F-ABAB-9211C3305271-19405-000008793D315138_zps5d8842c4.jpg

3F80BAEA-3C9A-468B-B1D0-495D62A19EB3-19405-000008793A55FE6E_zps9fb61cd8.jpg

3A7926F3-5C66-407F-8152-5B8325070398-19405-000008793786EB3D_zps1f4fda05.jpg

45DB644A-53D3-4233-9791-C307D3336C06-19405-000008793478D1A1_zpse1e5d3fc.jpg

Last edited:
It looks to me like a fired round ball from a blackpowder rifle. They usually will mushroom in that fashion. Looking at it in reference to the penny, it could be a 40 or 45 caliber.

Upvote 0
It looks to me like a fired round ball from a blackpowder rifle. They usually will mushroom in that fashion. Looking at it in reference to the penny, it could be a 40 or 45 caliber.

Thanks for the quick reply. Any idea how old that might make it? It was caked with dirt and very dark so I washed it with an old toothbrush.

Last edited:
Upvote 0