I am new to metal detectors. Help me decide which one to get

Jul 11, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I am new to treasure hunting and metal detecting. I need help deciding which detector to get. Budget is $350. Here are the ones I am considering
-Fisher F2
-Fisher F4
-Garret Ace 250
-Garret Ace 350

Can someone explain the difference between the Fisher F2 and F4.....and the Ace 250 and 350

Thanks.

p.s. I think they're all waterproof. I want one that can go in water if need be. Fresh water/salt water

Also what is the difference between cocentric coils and DD coils?

Double-D.jpgConcentric Coils.jpgHi User and welcome to Tnet
On the detectors you list none are waterproof...just the coils.
Gary

Last edited:
Other than that, this question with the same list comes up twice a week...There are PLENTY of threads out there. If you do a search you'll have enough reading material for several hours!
Good luck!

Hi, I am new to treasure hunting and metal detecting. I need help deciding which detector to get. Budget is $350. Here are the ones I am considering
-Fisher F2
-Fisher F4
-Garret Ace 250
-Garret Ace 350

Can someone explain the difference between the Fisher F2 and F4.....and the Ace 250 and 350

Thanks.

p.s. I think they're all waterproof. I want one that can go in water if need be. Fresh water/salt water

Also what is the difference between cocentric coils and DD coils?
Fisher Lab's F2 | Lost Treasure Online - Official Website of Lost Treasure Magazine
http://www.losttreasure.com/content/archives/f4-field-test
http://www.losttreasure.com/content/archives/garrett-electronics-ace-250
http://www.losttreasure.com/content/archives/garrett-electronics-ace-350-0