highbanker matting question

Huelten

Nov 22, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hey all,

ive got a quick question i could use some advice on. im new to highbanking, in fact i just built one out of my proline sluice box, which came with some standard carpet for under the riffles. also i picked up some deep grooved rubber v-matting from a local store. any advice on which one is more effective?

Well, for year's I used matting and miner's moss under riffles and expanded metal. It took me a long time to think that maybe technology had advanced enough to change the sluicing game. I was stubborn and held to the "tried and true"...then, I tried some Gold Hog matting. It took me a while (a LONG while), but now everything I have is outfitted with it. My sluices. My highbankers. And, my dredge sluice.

If you can afford it, it does a wonderful job collecting even the finest of gold flakes. If you can't afford, in the past I've used v-matting under the header area and carpet under riffles the rest of the way down the sluice bed.

okay i suppose i just assumed the v-matting would work because the small strip before my expanded metal begins is always catching gold. thanks for the info.
Do you run your gold hog matting underneath your expanded metal riffles?

Last edited:
Doc uses it under his punch plates. Check out his videos on youtube.

i once thought i couldnt aford Gold Hog mats. but if they collect as much gold as Docs saying/showing, the mats should pay for themselves quickly! anyway thats what im going to find out this summer in my travels!i have several setups/mats/carpets configurations for my dredge that im building to try out at some locations to see what works best for that area. my Veranda carpet did a reral good job saveing fine gold on the Arkansa River in Colorado and Wyoming. this summer should be LOTS of fun!

Hey all,