Help with sluice to high banker

I have a 10 inch stream sluice I want to convert to a high bankeR I was thinking of getting this one Jobe Highbanker Hopper Kit but in a lot of spots I can only run a electric pump would this pump power it 2200 GPH 12v Bilge Pump. I'm new to this hobby and love it

2200 gph will power it as long as you pre classify to 1/4" and your riffles are not over 3/8" tall. You may also have to go to a 1.5" drop per foot of sluice.

Opinions will vary.... the above is my opinion.

GG~

Last edited:
What gph do you suggest

Depends upon all the variables. Type of material being run, riffle type, mat type, whether using expanded or not, length of sluice, width of sluice, angle.

Typically a 10" x 4' sluice on a highbanker needs at least 60GPM (3600GPH) that way you have all the power you need and it can always be slowed down by a valve.

OK I'll get a 3700 then and just be safe
Just know that the battery drain on one that size will be significant.

Also before you put your money down .....get a second opinion!
Ask the folks at Black Cat Mining what they think.

GG~

Last edited:
Goodyguy said:
Just know that the battery drain on one that size will be significant.

Also before you put your money down .....get a second opinion!
Ask the folks at Black Cat Mining what they think.

GG~

I'm thinking if I go that size I might half to get a 24v system witch means lugging two battery's around

Wow that is spendy for that type of bilge pump.
You can buy 5 Harbor Freight 1000gph pumps for that and have a little left over, they are on sale right now for $18 dollars.
If you dont like the setup or they break you can return them in 90 days, you can also purchase a 3 year warranty for a little more.

Bilge Pump - 1000 GPH 12V Bilge Pump

They draw 5.5 amps.

I'm thinking if I go that size I might half to get a 24v system witch means lugging two battery's around

Better to get a small pump with gasoline engine.

Goodyguy said: