Help with bullet ID

Goldstar1

May 22, 2010
Detector(s) used
Goldbug Pro ,
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Can anyone help with an ID on this bullet ? it weighs 370 grains and is appx .51 " diameter but it is of course been fired and damaged so its hard to get an exact diameter. I thought it might be a 56-56 spencer but I am not sure they made a 370 grain bullet. I found it next to a couple different size musket balls and not too far away was a couple large rimfire cartridges and a 44 henry shell with a raised "H" headstamp so I think it is a fairly old one. Any help is appreciated , I am still learning this stuff.

Attachments

• PA301891.JPG
    PA301891.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 79
  • PA301895.JPG
    PA301895.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 71
shellsandbullets.jpgPA311908.JPG
Here are pictures of the other casings and bullets for context, I cleaned the 44 henry casing in the center. The long 38 bullet and the large 50 rimfire casing (with rim and center fire strike?) were from about a half mile away. The small lead ball is .44 (measures .435 114.49 grain ) with a flat spot on top , the other two are 140 grain, hard to measure the dia. but appx .45-.46.

Attachments

• PA311910.JPG
    PA311910.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 62
Upvote 0
Seems to be 44+.428 and 45 .452,, but all of those calibers weighed 200-255 grains. You sure of the weight?

Upvote 0
Thanks for the help. I may have confused this by adding the second post, I only added it to give context to the age. The first post/picture is a bullet Appx .51" Diameter (hard to get an exact measurement because it is somewhat damaged from firing) somewhere in the 50cal. range . Yes the Weight is 370 grains , unless my conversion is off. It weighs exactly 24 grams on my scale and I converted that by multiplying by 15.432 to come up with 370.368 grains.

Upvote 0
Anyone else have an idea what type the top 50 something cal. bullet is? Thanks

Upvote 0