Sjohnsone

Greenie
Sep 3, 2013
Long Beach, Ca.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Going on a 3 wk Motorcycle Trip - I'd love to try panning

Hey there everyone,

I'm living in Long Beach, Calif., and will be going on a 3 week motorcycle trip starting next sunday. I'll be riding up the west coast, then either across Idaho into Montana, or up into British Columbia and then down into Montana, then on to wyoming, colorado, and back home again.

I'd really love to do some gold panning for a day or two at some point. Does anyone have any recommendations on where to go in Washington, B.C., Montana or Wyoming or Colorado?

I'm a complete novice so something easy where I can possibly get a few flecks just to say I did it would be pretty awesome and give my back a rest from riding every day. Something near a campground would be preferable for me as I'll be camping the whole time.

Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

V/R,
Seth

Upvote 0
That sounds like a lot of fun! Good luck and be safe on the roads, I wish I could tell you some good sites, but I don't know the areas.

Revenge of the Mosquito

You have chosen some of the most beautiful landscapes on the Northern Continent to visit! Montana = BEARS, grizzly as well as black. NO Food in your tent. No scented chapstick either! I would carry a 35 mm film can or four of powdered Cayenne Pepper with you and hopefully the wind will always be at your back and it works on 4 legged as well as two legged animals. Also in Montana & Wyoming the Elk, the Moose, the Bison and Bears can all run faster than you so give all of them plenty of room so their comfort space is not violated. If an animal is grunting or snorting you are too close. Baby animals are cute to look at from a distance but Double Make Certain you do not get too close to them or feed them as Mama Will Stomp You! Other than these few "be careful's" you should enjoy yourself!