Getting Frustrated With E-Trac!

BryanM362

Mar 22, 2013
Cincinnati, OH
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac with Sun Ray probe, Garrett AT Pro, White's Classic SL, Garret Pro-pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Admittedly, I am a newbie on the e-trac, but I find it very difficult to tell trash from treasure with this machine!

I get what I think is a good coin signal, say a 12-40, dig it and it ends up being a bent nail, or a piece of aluminum scrap, or some other junk!

I can't understand why the numbers are so similar between trash and treasure! Maybe I just don't understand all the machine it telling me yet?

Any pointers?

Upvote 0
I am with your thoughts. I've been to an old spot of mine and the last 6 hours, I have found ( 0 )coins. I did find a Zincoln on the curb. I am still new using the E-trac with only about 15 hours. I dig alot of can slaw. In my old spot I go to the section that produced alot of V-Nickels My signals bouce around alot.. If I was to get a 12-46 ( Does this signal keep on repeating ) or will it jump around.

I've never used an e-trac but I do know that the person who sold me my Explorer uses one now and he said that he digs a lot more nails with it than he did with the Explorer.

It seems to jump around some, but even the clad dime I dug jumped from 11 -12 on the FE number. My AT Pro seemed better at IDing targets. The e-trac does go deeper though.

I have the same problem with my F-75. I have dug a lot more nails with it than I ever did with my Omega. I've dug more goodies also, which I guess makes up for it.

Sounds like u should give some different headphones a try . What ones are u using now ?
As for the jumping from 11 -12 on the FE, commonly it is picking up some surrounding minerals. Don't worry about the
Fe#'s to much they can vary a bit.
Learning the tones and the Fe#'s Co#'s, that hit solid in the 12 04 to 12 47 are where a lot of the goodies are .

FIRST, read your owners manual and make sure you understand it.