Fishing and MDing,Intro Post

T

TheBullShark

Ive been posting/lurking here for a few weeks now and at forums I always feel like Im butting into a conversation if I dont introduce myself...so,Hello Everyone.

Well there seems to be alot of Fishermen and Fisherwomen,and hunters in the MD'ing hobby,browsing all the MD boards(Im a member of other boards aswell) sometimes its like being at a fish/hunt forum...I guess its because we all have a love for being outdoors...Not to mention all those cool spots to MD that you find while out fishing or scouting the deerwoods or vice versa as the past 2 weeks MD'ing we found some really cool fishing spots.Ive been fishing my whole life and up until a couple years ago I was a deckhand on charter boats In Orange Beach,AL have also done a bit on the commercial end...but overall wasnt very pleased turning my hobby into a job and the only money I plan to make fishing in the future will be in tourneys only!

Now to MD'ing I am brand new to it,a buddy and I who I grew up with decided to get a couple MD's 2 weeks ago,we went with Tesoro Vaqueros as our beginner units and are very pleased with them atm...So far we havent found anything spectacular a handful of wheats,bullets(1900's for the most part ?) and few Patented items the oldest being 1911..We havent really hunted any great areas yet,and are mainly just hitting late 1800 and early 1900 houses,but you just wouldnt beleive the trash we are dealing with in some of these locations.Yesterday we started on a new house a buddy owns from this era and my friend found 4 wheats in one hole right off the bat,then for the next hour we were digging thick metal plates from about 2 ft,cant even GB in these areas so ouyr new thing will be to GB up the hill before we get there from now on we get hard hits all over these yards on full discrim so its ort of frustrating figuring out what to dig...I know we should dig everything but that means we would bascially be tilling up my friends lawn...Anyways