Feb 17, 2013
Warren County, VA
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030
Bounty Hunter - Lone Star
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I found my first coin today! I'm new to MD, and I wanted to get in some practice time with the Bounty Hunty Lone Star my wife got me for Christmas. I visited a lake that I used to live near & I thought since it was a cold and windy day, nobody would bother to tell me to leave. I had spent the first 45 minutes digging old pull tabs and beer bottle caps. I do have to give the Lone Star credit, it was finding them anywhere from 8 to 10 inches deep.

Like I said, it was cold & windy and after about 45 minutes I was ready to call it a day. I had gotten some experience with the machine, learning the different tones etc. and I was happy with that. But I thought, 5 more minutes...then a got a very nice tone, dug the plug and there among the grass roots was a 1993 quarter. It was black with oxidation and covered with mud...but it was my first coin, and I couldn't be happier!!

Upvote 6
Congratulations on finding your first Coin, Erick! The first one you rarely forget. Thanks for sharing this special moment with us!

Found mine the day i got my first detector...it didnt even have Discrimination and it was pure beginners luck finding a small 1 Reichspfennig Coin in the Forrest behind my house. Still have it in my collection.

I found my first coin today! I'm new to MD, and I wanted to get in some practice time with the Bounty Hunty Lone Star my wife got me for Christmas. I visited a lake that I used to live near & I thought since it was a cold and windy day, nobody would bother to tell me to leave. I had spent the first 45 minutes digging old pull tabs and beer bottle caps. I do have to give the Lone Star credit, it was finding them anywhere from 8 to 10 inches deep.