IMG_0018.JPG
    30.6 KB · Views: 487
  • IMG_0020.JPG
    IMG_0020.JPG
    28.5 KB · Views: 506
  • IMG_0021.JPG
    IMG_0021.JPG
    48.4 KB · Views: 497
I don't know a lot about errors. It looks like it might be (at least to me). Some others may be able to shed more light on it.

Upvote 0
It appears to be pinched--where the missing piece was removed. Try using a pair of wire cutters or tin snips and you'd get the same result...a pinching where the two halves of the nippers come together. I'd say it was probably cut off, rather than a substandard blank.

Upvote 0
hmm, the "cut" seems to have a radius or arc to it.
I wonder if you butt up another dime to the clipped area if the diameter will match the arc.
That may give a clue if it were clipped by the die or maybe something else.

Attachments

• dimes.jpg
    dimes.jpg
    2.8 KB · Views: 372
Upvote 0
I am not an expert....but I have done a ton of reading and have collected a few error coins. I am 99% sure it's a clipped planchet.
Here is a great website to learn about all kinds of coins. Lots of great people who have tons of info to share.
http://forums.collectors.com/

Upvote 0
honeywah said:
I am not an expert....but I have done a ton of reading and have collected a few error coins. I am 99% sure it's a clipped planchet.
Here is a great website to learn about all kinds of coins. Lots of great people who have tons of info to share.

Hmmm, I'm always a little suspicious of people who have fewer than 5 posts on TNet and are tauting the benefits of other forums. Please provide some examples of clipped planchets, since you have done "a ton of reading" about them this request should be fairly easy for you. Photos, for comparison, would be greatly appreciated. If the confirmed chipped planchets have a similar look to them, I'll be happy to agree with your assessment of the coin here on this thread. For whitesid's benefit, I truly hope you're correct.

Upvote 0
TreasureTales said:
honeywah said: